A breath of Springtime in Bloomsbury

Did you feel it? That brief caress of sunshine, that breath promising warm zephyrs and fragrant flowers, blue skies and lazy afternoons stretched on the grass with a book? Thursday brought a hint of Springtime, so at lunchtime I headed out into the squares of Bloomsbury to enjoy it.

The first delight was the Bloomsbury Farmers Market, which is fast becoming a Thursday fixture in Torrington Square. The queues of students waiting for farm-fresh lamb burgers or sausages were more relaxed in the warm weather, and it was good to wander the market, enjoying the colour of the flower stall and sampling Kentish apples and pears.

Even better was the chance to eat my lunch in sunny Gordon Square, which is awash with crocus and early daffodils. More students, bravely sprawling on the still-damp grass, although I chose a sedate bench. The little tea kiosk, formerly a summer-only attraction, has made it through the winter this year, and was rewarded with a lively clientele.

Finally, as if determined to collude with the illusion that summer really was around the corner, came the chime of the ice-cream van. It was met with delight. February? Pah. In Bloomsbury, Spring springs eternal.

1 Comment

Filed under London Life

One response to “A breath of Springtime in Bloomsbury

  1. I really enjoy the atmosphere of the farmers markets. One incident at Bishop’s Stortford market comes to mind. Nerve-wrecking when I found I lost my wallet with all my money when I was holidaying. How blessed to find it again at the stall where I bought some pies. Such a relieving experience and I took a picture with the stall owner. Honest to goodness people there:))

What do you think?

